EN
Our History

History

Home About Brother Our History
History
Spirit of Establishment
Spirit of Establishment
Yasui Sewing Machine Co., a company that sold and repaired sewing machines, was established in 1908 by Kanekichi Yasui, the father of the founders of Brother Industries, Ltd.

Masayoshi Yasui, the eldest of ten children, began helping his father at the age of 9, and at 17 he began working as an apprentice in Osaka. With the sewing machine market at that time dominated by imported products, Masayoshi was determined to "develop this import-based sewing machine industry into an export-based industry" by introducing domestic production.

While a lack of production facilities and advanced processing technologies led many to believe it was impossible to produce sewing machines in Japan, Masayoshi's resolution never wavered. He started developing and selling hydraulic presses to produce straw hats, while at the same time carrying out research on sewing machine manufacturing.

The research paid off when Jitsuichi Yasui, Masayoshi's younger brother and co-founder of Brother, succeeded in developing shuttle hooks, a main component of sewing machines. In 1932, the Yasui brothers successfully introduced the first sewing machine made entirely in Japan.

From early on, Brother was driven by its motto "superior quality and diligent service". This motto is key to the company's continued prosperity and reflects its commitment to producing quality products – a value that continues to be passed down to every Brother employee.

The Brother Global Charter, in defining Brother Group's basic policies for the new era, includes "commitment to quality", "customer-first" and "care for the environment". The Charter's preamble states Brother's responsibility: "Brother Group's mission is to create and quickly deliver superior value to customers through our high quality products and services."
Sewing Machine Era
Sewing Machine Era
Produced in 1928 by the Yasui brothers, who sought to produce sewing machines domestically, this was the first chain-stitch sewing machine for producing straw hats. It was the first product marketed with the "Brother" brand, which was named after the Yasui brothers' collaborative effort that realised the production of this sewing machine.

Interestingly, "Brother" was not the first brand name considered by the Yasui brothers when naming their first model. Initially they chose "Sister" because the majority of sewing machine users were women, but it turned out that the name was already registered as a sewing machine brand name. Drawing inspiration from their strong family ties, founders Jitsuichi and Masayoshi Yasui then decided to go with the name "Brother".

In 1933 the company built a new factory in the area that is now the Mizuho Ward, Nagoya City, for domestic mass-production of sewing machines. Taking the next step towards mass production, the Yasui Brothers Sewing Machine Shop was liquidated on January 15, 1934 to enable its incorporation under the name Nippon Sewing Machine Manufacturing Co., which subsequently began to manufacture industrial sewing machines in 1936.

In 1941 Brother Sales, Ltd. was established in order to develop a sales network in Japan. In 1947, at the request of the Japanese government, Brother exported 200 sewing machines to Shanghai. This was the first step in developing the import-based sewing machine industry into an export-based industry, which was Brother's ambition since its founding.
Diversification Era
Diversification Era
Using the technology it had developed through the manufacture of sewing machines, Brother started to diversify into other business fields by beginning production of knitting machines and home electric appliances, and experimenting with electronics.

In 1954, in an effort to increase exports, Brother International Corporation was established as an exporting company. With the establishment of a sales base in New York in 1954 and its first European production base in Ireland in 1958, Brother actively promoted internationalisation in advance of other Japanese companies.

Around the same time, the U.S. sales company strongly recommended the production of portable typewriters, emphasising that typewriters were becoming increasingly popular in the U.S. as an office necessity. Through steady effort, the engineering team finally succeeded in developing a low-cost typewriter of higher quality and greater durability than those marketed by their competitors. Brother typewriters were then exported to the U.S., where they soon acquired a reputation for quality and efficiency, marking the company's entry into the information and communications equipment field.

In 1961, the Headquarters building was completed in Japan, and 1962 saw the corporate name changed from Nippon Sewing Machine Manufacturing Co. to Brother Industries, Ltd. At the 1964 Tokyo Olympic Games, Brother provided 300 typewriters for journalists from abroad, which greatly helped improve recognition of the Brother brand.

By 1971, Brother was making typewriters in more than 20 languages and exporting them to 110 countries around the world. Along with sewing machines, typewriters became the company's flagship export product.
Mechatronics Era
Mechatronics Era
Adding electronics technology to a mechanical base was a natural step for Brother, which from the beginning has been actively engaged in the development of new products. In 1971, Brother successfully developed the world's first high-speed dot-matrix printer, an achievement considered to be the origin of today's printing technology. This product, developed jointly with a U.S. venture company, earned a reputation both in Japan and abroad for its impressive high print speed compared to contemporary machines of the time.

In 1980, Brother developed an electronic typewriter (EM-1) for office use that featured daisy wheel printing using a linear pulse motor, and the product soon acquired an excellent reputation. As an official supplier of the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics, Brother provided 3,000 typewriters, thereby gaining international recognition as the No. 1 typewriter brand.

Following this period, Brother released a unique "Labelling system" product, which used thermal transfer technologies developed through the production of electronic personal printers and Japanese word processors. In 1987, Brother began the production of facsimile machines, further strengthening the company's position in the information and communications equipment field.
Network & Contents
Network & Contents
In 1992 Brother introduced its new "FAX-600" facsimile machine in the U.S. and it quickly became a big hit, catapulting Brother into the next era – the real Network & Contents era.

Following its success, Brother developed a competitively priced, high-performance multi-function fax machine. Brother hit the jackpot when it decided to tap an emerging customer segment that its competitors had not noticed: the growing numbers of venture businesses (SOHOs) with small offices requiring inexpensive office equipment.

In 1995, Brother marketed its Laser Digital Multi-Function Centre, which integrated printing, faxing and copying functions into a single unit. This newly integrated machine accelerated the growth of Brother's printing business. Brother then introduced a Colour Inkjet Digital Multi-Function Centre. As a result of these product innovations, Brother's information and communications equipment business expanded exponentially.
Global Vision 21
Global Vision 21
As an organisation doing business globally, Brother Group adheres to a "customer-first" policy in all aspects of its operations. We are dedicated to providing superior value to both our existing customers and our future customers. Based on these principles, Global Vision 21 was established in 2002 as a mid- to long-term corporate vision of Brother Group. The objectives of Global Vision 21 are:

• To become a leading global company with high profitability
• To become a world-class manufacturer by developing outstanding proprietary technologies
• To embody Brother’s motto "At your side" throughout our corporate culture

Brother has been striving to achieve these objectives under its customer-focused management system, focusing on its three business segments:

• Printing & Solutions (P&S) Company
• Printers, Multi-Function Centres, Facsimiles, P-Touch Labellers

• Personal & Home (P&H) Company
• Domestic sewing machines

• Machinery & Solution (M&S) Company • Industrial sewing machines, machine tools

The Printing & Solutions (P&S) business is committed to the advancement of printing technologies. P&S offers business solutions designed to fit perfectly in the SOHO (small office home office) environment and in departmental work groups in larger companies, designing products that help streamline workflow and add efficiency and convenience.

The Personal & Home (P&H) company mission is to provide customers with sewing and embroidery products that are fun, easy to use and can provide a myriad of ways to enhance their creativity.

The Machinery & Solution (M&S) business offers customers "solutions" that meet and exceed the needs of their production sites for industrial sewing machines and machine tools. While remaining steadfast in its tradition and spirit of manufacturing, Brother pledges to continue to create and quickly deliver superior value to our customers through our high quality products and services.
Milestones 1908 Kanekichi Yasui established Yasui Sewing Machine Co. 1925 Masayoshi Yasui inherited the company, and renamed the company as Yasui Brothers' Sewing Machine Co. 1932 Yasui Brothers' Sewing Machine Co. succeeded in mass-production of home sewing machines. 1934 Established Nippon Sewing Machine Manufacturing Co. (now Brother Industries, Ltd.) 1941 Established Brother Sales, Ltd. as a sales company for the Japanese market. 1947 Started exporting of home sewing machines. 1954 Established Brother International Corporation (Japan) as an exporting company to overseas.

Established a regional sales company in the Americas.
1958 Established a regional sales company in Europe. 1961 Moved in the fields of business machines and machine tools. 1962 Nippon Sewing Machine Manufacturing Co. renamed the company as Brother Industries, Ltd. 1963 Stock of Nippon Sewing Machine Manufacturing Co. was listed on the Tokyo, Osaka, and Nagoya Stock Exchange.
1971 Launched the world's first high-speed dot-matrix printer. 1979 Taiwan Brother Industries, Ltd. started production of home sewing machines. 1984 Provided typewriters at the Los Angels Olympics Games as an official supplier. 1985 Brother Industries (U.K.) Ltd. started production of electronic typewriters. 1987 Moved in the field of telecommunication equipment. 1988 Moved in the field of electronic stationery. 1989 Brother Industries Technology (M) Sdn. Bhd. started production of business machine parts. 1992 Established Xing Inc. and started the on-line karaoke system business. 1993 Zhuhai Brother Industries, Co., Ltd. started production of domestic sewing machines. 1994 Brother Corporation (Asia) Ltd. started production of business machine parts in their consigned manufacturing facility. 1995 Xian Typical Brother Industries, Co., Ltd. started production of industrial sewing machines. 1999 Brother Industries, Ltd. affiliated Brother Sales Ltd. as a subsidiary.
Established The Brother Group Global Charter.
2000 Introduced the In-House Company System, the Executive Officers System, and the system to include a director from outside the company. 2002 Brother Sewing Machine Xian Co., Ltd. started production of special industrial sewing machines.
Established The Global Vision 21.
2003 Brother Industries(Shenzhen), Ltd. started production of All-in-Ones. 2005 Brother Communication Space opened.
Established Brother (China) Ltd.
Participated in the 2005 World Exposition, Aichi, Japan by presenting an exhibition in the Joint Pavilion.
2006 Established Brother Industries (Vietnam) Ltd.
Established Brother Technology (Shenzhen) Ltd.
Established Brother Industries (Slovakia) s.r.o.
Changed the industry classification in the stock market fr
2007 Changed the number of shares per unit from one thousand shares to one hundred shares. 2008 Marked first 100 years of business. 2010 Affiliated BMB Corporation as a subsidiary.
Established Brother Software Development (Hangzhou) Ltd.
2011 Affiliated Nefsis Corporation as a subsidiary.
Established Brother Industries Saigon, Ltd.
2017 Accumulated Production of Home Sewing Machines has reached 60 Million Units 2018 Brother Marked the 110th Anniversary of Its Founding in April 2020 Ranked #130 in the 2020 "World's Best Employers" list by Forbes Magazine

EN
公司歷史

公司歷史

首頁 關於 Brother 公司歷史
公司歷史
成立過程
成立過程
安井兼吉於1908年建立安井縫紉機公司,專營銷售及維修縫紉機。而安井兼吉正是Brother工業有限公司創辦人的父親。

安井兼吉的大兒子安井正義由九歲起協助父親打理生意,因此自幼便學會了修理縫紉機的技巧。安井正義在17歲時便到了大阪當學徒。當時大阪正是日本縫紉機業發展的中心。安井正義親眼目睹外國產品充斥日本縫紉機市場,認為日本要有本土製的縫紉機,因此他立志將進口縫紉機市場的局面扭轉為本土製的縫紉機市場。

當時,一般人認為日本幾近不可能製造自己的縫紉機,因為既沒有生產設施,同時也缺乏技術。不過安井正義心意已決。他獲得購置生產縫紉機的資金,並開始研發及行銷水器材,用以製造草帽。他更在日本開展了縫紉機的科研工作──以表明他的雄心。

Brother的座右銘是「優越品質、無言奉獻」。生產有質素的產品是回饋社會的一種方法,亦是本公司持續發展的方向。基於這句座右銘,Brother一直堅守其質素,並且不斷教育Brother的員工。

Brother全球憲章為整個集團制訂新紀元的基本公司策略,包括「堅守品質」、「以客為先」及「愛護環境」。

此憲章的導言說明了Brother的責任:「Brother集團的使命就是透過高品質的產品服務,讓客戶享受更高的價值。」
縫紉機年代
縫紉機年代
安井Brother於1928年生產日本自家製的縫紉機。這是首台鏈形縫紉機,用以製造草帽的,更是首台以「Brother」這品牌行銷的產品。「Brother」這品牌正代表了安井Brother同心協力,實現日本自家生產縫紉機的精神。

信不信由你,安井Brother最初的構思並不是以「Brother」為這品牌的名稱。他們起初選擇了「姊妹」,因為大部份的縫紉機用戶以女性為主,但這名稱原來早已經被註冊了為一個縫紉機的品牌。安井Brother再由頭構想。因為他們有深厚的家庭觀念,所以最後選擇以「Brother」為名稱。選擇這名稱的原因大概不用多解釋了。

1993年,新廠開設於名古屋瑞穗區,進行大量生產本土縫紉機。接下來於1934年,安井Brother縫紉機店屬入日本縫紉機株式會社名下,並於1936年開始生產工業用縫紉機。

1941年成立了Brother縫紉機販賣株式會社,在日本開拓銷售網絡。

1947年,在日本政府要求下,Brother輸出了200台縫紉機到上海。這是由「以入口縫紉機為主的市場,至出口縫紉機產品」的重要一步,而這正是Brother牌建立之目標。
多元化年代
多元化年代
Brother利用科技研發了如何製造縫紉機。此後,他們開展其他範疇的業務,如生產針織機及家庭電器,並進行電子產品的實驗。

1954年為了增強出口,於是就建立了Brother國際企業。自1954年於紐約建立銷售總部,並於1958年在愛爾頓建立歐洲生產基地,Brother成了全日本最早國際化的其中一家企業。

差不多在相同時間,美國銷售部門大力推薦生產手提打字機,稱這產品將會越來越受美國人歡迎,並會成為辦公室的必需品。經過一番努力,工程人員終於研發出較市場其他品牌低成本,但高品質且耐用的打字機。由此時開始,Brother的打字機便出口美國,不久更以其高質素贏盡口碑,並因此而引領公司踏入資訊及通訊產品的市場。

1961年於日本的總部大廈落成,並於1962年由「日本縫紉機株式會社」改名為「Brother工業株式會社」。Brother在1964年東京奧運時提供了300台打字機給外國記者,令其品牌廣受認可。

直到1971年,Brother產品20種語言的打字機,並行銷全球110個國家。除了縫紉機之外,打字機漸成公司的旗艦出口產品。
機械電子時代
機械電子時代
Brother由起初已經積極研發新產品,更將電子技術注入機械產品。在1971年,Brother成為全球第一家公司,成功開發高速點陣打印機。這是現今打印機市場的一項里程碑。這個產品與一家美國公司合資開發的,不論在日本與國外都贏得很好的口碑,因為它比同時期的產品速度更高。

在1980年,Brother開發了一台電子打字機(EM-1),備有菊輪打印技術,使用線性脈波馬達。這項產品也獲得一致好評。1984年Brother再接再厲,為洛杉磯奧運會提供多達3,000台打字機,並為全球認可冠軍打字機品牌。

接下來,Brother推出了一台獨特的「標籤系統」產品。它使用生產電子個人打印機及日文文書處理器所獲得的熱轉技術。在1987年,Brother開始生產傳真機,因此便隨之進入了資訊及通訊器材的領域了。
網絡與多功能世紀
網絡與多功能世紀
Brother於1992年在美國推出全新的傳真機「FAX-600」,迅即成為大熱產品,並帶領Brother進入全新的世紀──真網絡及內容世紀。

FAX-600的成功並沒有令Brother停步,反而鼓勵了他們開發了一台價格更相宜,而表現更優秀的多功能傳真機。Brother進一步取得成功,因為他們獨具慧眼,決定在其他對手未留意之前,攻取新興的客戶群──這正是日漸增多的SOHO客戶。他們需要較為相宜的辦公室產品。

1995年起,Brother在市場推廣鐳射數碼多功能中心,把打印、傳真及影印多種功能集於一身。而這新款的產品全面Brother的打印機銷售表現。Brother再推出多功能彩色噴墨打印機,進一步在資訊及通訊產品邁出大步。
Global Vision 21
Global Vision 21
隨著公司開始向全世界擴充業務,Brother集團在所有營運環節推行「以客為先」的政策。此外,公司更決心向現有,以及未來的客戶提供卓越的價值。基於這些理念,Brother集團在2002年設立了「Global Visin 21」,作為公司中、長線的發展視野。Global Vision 21的目標包括:

• 成為帶領全球,並擁有高收益潛力的企業;
• 發展超卓專利技術,成為世界級製造商;
• 在整個企業文化中,具體落實公司「At your side」 的理念

Brother在其以客為中心的管理層領導下,致力達成以上的目標,並專注於以下的業務範圍:

• 打印及通訊方案(P&S)
• 打印機、多功能打印機、傳真機、P-Touch標籤機

• 個人及家用方案 (P&H)
• 本土生產縫紉機

• 機械方案 (M&S)
• 工業用縫紉機及機械工具

打印及通訊方案(P&S)業務專注於開發打印技術。P&S專為SOHO環境及大公司的部門組群提供商業方案,方便他們簡化工作流程,並增添效率與便利。

個人及家用方案(P&H)的使命是為客戶提供簡單易用縫紉及繡製產品,讓用戶盡情發揮無限創意。

機械方案(M&S)業務提供能滿足,甚至超越他們生產工作需求的縫紉機及機械方案。Brother依然堅持其傳統與「生產」精神,所以公司保證繼續透過其產品與服務為客戶創建及提供最佳的價值。
里程碑 1908 安井兼吉創辦「安井縫紉機商會」 1925 安井正義継承前任。公司改名為"安井縫紉機兄弟商會" 1932 成功實現家用縫紉機批量生產 1934 設立"日本縫紉機製造株式會社" (即為現在的兄弟工業株式會社) 1941 作為日本國內銷售企業設立"兄弟縫紉機販賣株式會社" 1947 開始出口家用縫紉機 1954 作為出口企業設立"兄弟國際株式會社"

在美州設立銷售公司

並涉入編織機和家電領域
1958 在歐洲設立銷售公司 1961 涉入辦公機械和加工機械領域 1962 重新命名為Brother工業株式會社 1963 在東京、大阪、名古屋證券交易所上市 1971 銷售世界第一台高速點陣式印表機 1979 "台弟工業股份有限公司"開始生產家用縫紉機 1984 作為洛杉磯奧運會的正式贊助商提供打字機 1985 "兄弟工業英國有限公司"開始生產電子打字機 1987 涉入資訊通訊機械領域 1988 涉入電子文具領域 1989 "兄弟工業技術馬來西亞SDN,BHD."開始生產資訊設備零件 1992 設立XING株式會社,開始提供通信卡拉OK服務 1993 "珠海兄弟工業有限公司"開始生產家用縫紉機 1994 "兄弟亞洲有限公司"的委託工廠開始生產資訊設備零件 1995 "西安兄弟標準工業有限公司"開始生產工業用縫紉機 1999 "兄弟販賣株式會社"成為子公司
制定Brother集團"全球憲章"
2000 兄弟工業引入公司內分社制度、執行負責人制度,聘任"公司外部董事" 2002 "兄弟縫紉機(西安)有限公司"開始生產工業用特殊縫紉機
制定"21世紀全球理想"
2003 "兄弟工業(深圳)有限公司"開始生產數碼多功能一體機 2005 "Brother交流空間"開館
成立"兄弟(中國)商業有限公司"
出展2005年日本國際博覽會(愛・地球博覽會)
2006 成立"兄弟工業(越南)有限公司"
成立"兄弟高科技(深圳)有限公司"
成立"兄弟工業(斯洛伐克)有限公司"
兄弟工業株式會社的所屬行業從"機械"改為"電氣設備"
2007 將股票賣賣單位由1,000股降低到100股 2008 Brother集團創立100周年 2010 "BMB株式會社"成為子公司
成立"濱江兄弟軟件(杭州)有限公司"
2011 "Nefsis有限公司"成為子公司
成立"兄弟工業(西貢)有限公司"
2017 家用縫隙機累計產量達6000萬部 2018 Brother 成立110 周年 2020 於《福布斯》雜誌2020全球最佳僱主名單排行第130